My ATC's on display top row

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Whoa, did any one say stuffed???? I hope I don’t see another turkey for at least a year.  All that preparation, baking, cleaning, driving, all in anticipation for a turkey dinner.  My gosh it is a shame all of the food that is prepared for a ten minute feast.  Then another two hours of cleanup all the while children screaming for dessert.  I need a wheel barrow to wheel me back to my car.  Then we start with everyone getting together for leftovers, why, didn’t we have enough all ready? 

I assume we all need this for energy for the upcoming shopping frenzy.  I however do not indulge in black friday shopping.  Again someone was trampled at some early morning store opening.  Is it really worth it.  In watching the news you see people just jumping over the poor guy who was on the ground, is a life worth that Xbox you were after.  If that person’s son is like my grandchildren, they all ready have a DS, Playstation, Wii, iPods and still want the Xbox.  Why because they can or what is wrong with the thousands of dollars of games that you currently have?  Why not go out and create your own fun?

It’s only two days since the feast and I am still stuffed and tired and not caring about decorating for Christmas as I usually do right after Thanksgiving.  It must be my age getting to me.  Which leads me to the fact that my husband and I can’t walk today after taking my precious granddaughter (age 12) bowling yesterday.  We forget we are old and that this is a strenuous sport.  We bowled three games and my knees are killing me and my husband is having trouble with his elbow, shoulder and knee.  Guess we don’t get out much.  Tomorrow is Sunday and I plan on sleeping the day away and then maybe on Monday or Tuesday I will start the task of dragging out the Christmas decorations.  OMG, there are only 27 shopping days left, maybe I won’t sleep tomorrow.  After all this I must say I am so thankful for my family and friends.

About kboat

I’m a native of La Porte, Indiana. When I was growing up we didn’t have much money, so I made my gifts for others with materials I found out and around. I loved it. And I have to say I was pretty good at it. People always liked what I gave them. I went to work for 26 years as an employee of a major asphalt paving company. I began as a secretary and eventually made my way to office manager. Needless to say I mostly only dreamed about my art - filling my mind with many ideas. Although the company did take advantage of my skills once in a while. For example, I created in-house materials for an open house. I loved “keeping my hand in” whenever an opportunity presented itself. Then I retired. And ... funny thing ... all those pent-up ideas I used to dream about began to roll out. I joined ATC (Artists Trading Cards) on line, I took classes and tutorials and learned about the processes of creating art. Today, I pursue these learning opportunities to open myself to new ideas and techniques. I also love opportunities to assist in classes for special populations. I find I learn a lot from those who have no preconceptions about what they should be doing. I’m eager to learn new things. Mostly I don’t have any idea what I set out to make. I simply let the ideas find me. The result is a wide variety of media and expression triggered by my experiences in every-day life. I hope you enjoy my work. View all posts by kboat

One response to “

Leave a Reply

