Recycled Art

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was inspired by an altered skeleton key I saw and decided to try my hand at this.  It was so much fun to peruse the antique stores for the jewelry and I have a ton of keys to use.  I want to make more but need to finish things for Christmas first.  I can already see that I will be in my little room during  all the upcoming winter days.  I can’t wait to get back to just doing things for myself that I like instead of trying to be on a schedule for Christmas gifts.  I like doing it but it is so much more pressure trying to create what I have in my mind on a time schedule.  Pray for me that all works out.

About kboat

I’m a native of La Porte, Indiana. When I was growing up we didn’t have much money, so I made my gifts for others with materials I found out and around. I loved it. And I have to say I was pretty good at it. People always liked what I gave them. I went to work for 26 years as an employee of a major asphalt paving company. I began as a secretary and eventually made my way to office manager. Needless to say I mostly only dreamed about my art - filling my mind with many ideas. Although the company did take advantage of my skills once in a while. For example, I created in-house materials for an open house. I loved “keeping my hand in” whenever an opportunity presented itself. Then I retired. And ... funny thing ... all those pent-up ideas I used to dream about began to roll out. I joined ATC (Artists Trading Cards) on line, I took classes and tutorials and learned about the processes of creating art. Today, I pursue these learning opportunities to open myself to new ideas and techniques. I also love opportunities to assist in classes for special populations. I find I learn a lot from those who have no preconceptions about what they should be doing. I’m eager to learn new things. Mostly I don’t have any idea what I set out to make. I simply let the ideas find me. The result is a wide variety of media and expression triggered by my experiences in every-day life. I hope you enjoy my work. View all posts by kboat

One response to “Recycled Art

Leave a comment