It’s a holiday and I’m on the computer!

Digital Collage
Oh to fly!

 

I wonder today if age has something to do with the fact that it’s the 4th of July and I have spent most of my day on my computer reading messages and creating digital art.  We did go to a small party at a friends but it was so hot we only stayed a couple of hours.  Younger adults didn’t mind a bit, could have something to do with age.  I took my little handheld fan but alas it has died and I am sad.  It is the only thing keeping me from murdering someone when it is this hot.  Now I will have to search out another one as my post-menopausal symptoms require it.  People stare when they see me in the store with it hanging from my purse running at full speed, but I say wait till you’re my age and then we’ll talk.

I am so obsessed these days with creating new things, collages, digital art, ATC’s, trading online.  I feel alone except for my online trading pals as I have no one close interested in any form of art.  If I talk about it they look away and don’t want to hear it.  My best friend calls me Martha (for Ms. Stewart of course). I know she means no harm but she and others don’t understand my desire to create.  My dear husband told me today that my studio was a hoarders nest.  I had to differ with him of course because I can still walk around in there.  LOL!  I laugh now at my calling this room a studio as if I were an artist or something but it’s better than “the man cave” as men call their spaces. 

My youngest daughter texted me today to say Happy 4th and I was excited.  She is the one who was born with a bond to me that no one will ever break and a giving and loving soul.  She is the one who will keep me out of nursing home and take care of me (I pray) she is sensitive and beautiful inside and out.  My oldest daughter loves deeply as well but has inherited the gene from my siblings who don’t show too much emotion, unless she is watching sports.  Her husband tells us how emotional she gets over her favorite teams.   She hates to be hugged and I make her hug me every time we see each other until she can’t stand it.  It’s not as cold as it sounds it’s much funnier to see than to try to describe it.  She is also a beautiful person.  She is the worrier and pays for it in stomach ailments.

Well that was my day and it’s time to go to bed and wake up excited to do some art!!!!

About kboat

I’m a native of La Porte, Indiana. When I was growing up we didn’t have much money, so I made my gifts for others with materials I found out and around. I loved it. And I have to say I was pretty good at it. People always liked what I gave them. I went to work for 26 years as an employee of a major asphalt paving company. I began as a secretary and eventually made my way to office manager. Needless to say I mostly only dreamed about my art - filling my mind with many ideas. Although the company did take advantage of my skills once in a while. For example, I created in-house materials for an open house. I loved “keeping my hand in” whenever an opportunity presented itself. Then I retired. And ... funny thing ... all those pent-up ideas I used to dream about began to roll out. I joined ATC (Artists Trading Cards) on line, I took classes and tutorials and learned about the processes of creating art. Today, I pursue these learning opportunities to open myself to new ideas and techniques. I also love opportunities to assist in classes for special populations. I find I learn a lot from those who have no preconceptions about what they should be doing. I’m eager to learn new things. Mostly I don’t have any idea what I set out to make. I simply let the ideas find me. The result is a wide variety of media and expression triggered by my experiences in every-day life. I hope you enjoy my work. View all posts by kboat

3 responses to “It’s a holiday and I’m on the computer!

  • Barb

    Hi Karen,
    What a wonderful digital creation – especially luv the “soft” look.
    I’m going to miss Marie’s weekly class, it was such an enjoyable learning experience.
    Barb in Texas

  • Aimeslee

    Hey, Karen. Wonderful piece you created. I just blogged about the fabric atc I made with that gorgeous image transfer you RAK’d me and I linked you. Thanks again! I have seen those little fans on AmeriMark.com and they are having a $1.99 shipping on every order thru 8/8/10. I went there and searched for “fan” and here is the link of the results:

    http://www.amerimark.com/cgi-bin/amerimark/esearch.html

    There are several to choose from. I think I’ll even order a couple! xoxo, Aimeslee

  • Aimeslee

    Okay, sorry, just tried the link I gave you and it doesn’t show the fans, so just type in the word fan in the search box there and the page of them will come up. xoxo, Aimeslee

Leave a Reply

